“What to Photoshop, That is the Question”

Incredible but true, now that I have worked with Photoshop, I feel the hardest part is not handling the tools but knowing what to change for improving the image. If I do not see what needs change, does that mean there is nothing to change? Probably not. That is why I would like to learn more about how to appreciate photographs: what is trendy in the industry and what is more effective, for example. I need to learn more about the rules. Only if we know the rules we can break them with our creativity.

For the rest of the class this week, I’ve been enjoying the learning process of this program with a healthy mix of frustration and satisfaction. It is reassuring to know that there are other people around me experiencing the same doubts, and even gifted enough to inspire me to work with more quality and speed.

Right now, I am working on my still image project and confronting a million questions: Will it be correct to crop this picture, will this color look fine with that background or too cheesy, are these my best 6 pictures? I will do my best, that’s for sure. Professor Jay has also promised to give us the opportunity to redo our job in case there are mistakes. This is one of the very few times in my student life that a professor proposes such a fantastic deal, and trying until I make it is my strong suit.

Leave a Reply

