“Officially Stressed”

I thought that I had everything under control, but as one of the Murphy’s Laws says, “Everything that can go wrong will go wrong.” OK, maybe I am being a bit of a drama queen here, but seriously, it has been a lot of work, and sometimes inexperience bits preparation.

Last week I told you my interviewee changed our meeting because a last-minute family business. We agreed on doing it on Monday. No big deal, right? Monday afternoon I was at his house at 5 p.m., and between doing the interviews and shooting the b-roll, more than 2 hours passed. By the time I was ready for the stand ups there was no light. “Tomorrow morning,” I said.

Next day, I went back to the place were my interviewee trains for his run. All set: memorized lines, natural lighting, camera set, mic set, headphone set…wait! “I cannot hear a thing.” I checked the equipment; did a sound test reading the script and nothing. The microphone battery died. I just could not believe it. I went to two store looking for a battery. When I finally put on the new battery, I realized what the problem really was: I had misplaced the headphones and the mic’s cable connection. Unbelievable! After that, I only had time to drive to work and postpone the shooting for another day.

Wednesday, I was finally able to finish the recording and start the editing. Thank God I was on schedule with the chroma key project, so I dedicated all my time to editing the news report.

As you can see, I had my share of stressing moments this week, but I managed to make it alive and with my video projects well. I can only imagine the rush TV journalists live in and I’m not sure I would like it. Maybe it is just a matter of getting used to. We’ll see, Skylighters. Keep by my side in this journey, OK?!

Leave a Reply

